User Tag List

Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    37
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    9

    Bright House HD Cable Receiver

    If you have HD cable already set up in your house (i.e. ESPN HD, CBS HD, and the like), is it possible to buy a HD cable receiver and use that for extra rooms around the house and still be able to get the same channels as the original box?

    Also, if it's possible, do you have any recommendations on what HD cable receiver to get? I'm checking prices for one with/without a DVR.


    Thanks,
    David

  2. #2
    Ric
    Ric is offline
    OF Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    16,043
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    172
    no thats call stealing, and if you have or buy bright house cable boxes from yard sales, internet, etc, they have the right to take them back with police escort.

    In fact, the boxes are controlled by the head end. So you can steal cable all you want for basic channels and buy a HD box, and you know what? That Digital Cable or HD box wont work, and there is no hack for it because the digital cable box logs into the brighthouse network like your PC does on a network. If your not allowed access, your not getting service.

    So yes, if you want a digital cable box with HD, call bright house, and order it. There is no way around it.

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    37
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    9
    Wow, I didn't know the receivers were set up like that. I already pay ~$8 for HD with the box that Bright House gave me, but I noticed they were available online so I figured it wouldn't hurt to check. Thanks!

  4. #4
    New Member SpaZMonKeY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Winter Springs, FL
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rep Power
    10
    You CAN purchase one, and PAY to have it setup. That is perfectly fine. Im a Field Tech for BrightHouse and I have set one up before. If you purchase one and have it setup, BrightHouse does still own the box, and can take it at their leasure.

    Unless your getting one for free from a friend, your better off getting one from Brighthouse, as you wont be paying much more at all.

    And Soarer is right about the HeadEnd. Every Cable Box is IP Addressable, so pretty much anything imaginable can be done from the HeadEnd to your box

    BTW: The Scientific Atlantic 8300HD-DVR is the best HD DVR so far. My fav!


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Bright House
    By csabia4091 in forum Business Reviews
    Replies: 40
    Last Post: 12-09-2010, 05:25 PM
  2. F Bright House!!!!!
    By Papparazzi in forum The Lobby
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 10-24-2010, 06:12 PM
  3. bright house?
    By Zan in forum The Lobby
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 12-09-2008, 03:37 PM
  4. Bright House DVR question
    By jdmsi22 in forum Computers | Cell Phones | Gadgets
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-05-2007, 11:43 PM
  5. Bright house / internet help plz
    By Alex in forum The Lobby
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 06-19-2007, 12:27 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83